Tags

, ,

My Shed

My shed is a bit of an embarrassment. A while ago I had some visitors in the garden. The shed door had been left open. As we passed by the shed I hurriedly closed the door, embarrassed by the state of its interior and said ‘You don’t want to look in there’. One of my visitors chuckled and replied ‘You haven’t seen inside mine’. At that moment we were united by the bain of many gardeners’ lives . . . the messy shed.

Inside my shed

I’m normally a really tidy person. Having spent time in small rooms at Uni, a tiny flat and a spell in army quarters I learnt that being tidy was a necessity and everything has its place and all that. So the state of my shed really niggles, messes with my head. Fortunately, I can shut the door, go into the house and forget about it. That is until I need something from there and then I groan at the prospect of having to retrieve the necessary item. At the moment I would say I have a space no more that 45cm square by the door that I can actually stand in.

The problem isn’t really that I have a personality change when it comes to my shed and suddenly become messy, it’s just too small. It’s our only outdoor storage space and has to function as a log store, potting shed, recycling centre and general storage shed. Now we have an allotment the demands on our little garden shed have increased. I have so much stuff that some of it has migrated into the house, so I now have seaweed and tomato feed and comfrey pellets stored in the downstairs loo.

Things do improve in Spring. Once we have used our logs this frees up some space and items such as hosepipes, which were stored over winter to protect them can then be moved back outside. It still falls somewhat short of my dream shed. A shed with shelves on the wall, a window for natural light and a bench that I can stand at and do my seed sowing and potting up would be nice. My ultimate dream shed is made from wood and painted in a lovely sage green colour with a beautiful slate roof and split door.

Maybe one day, but for now I will have to put up with plastic pot towers precariously perched and the bag of vermiculite that has become so well buried amongst a myriad of other essentials that it will take at least half an hour of unpacking the shed to get to it. A gardening glove that was placed somewhere in the shed this Autumn but that won’t be discovered again until sometime next Spring. I’m sure my little knife is there too. Over the winter I’ll forget it’s missing and then one day I’ll come across it and think ‘so that’s where it got to’.

It has been quite therapeutic sharing this with you. I’d loved to hear of other peoples’ spaces that they prefer to keep hidden, whether it’s your shed or that space at the bottom of the garden. The place sickly plants go to, but then they get forgotten about or the place all those old compost bags end up. And I loved to hear about your dream shed.

