Tags

, ,

I spent yesterday pottering about in the garden preparing for winter. The wind had finally died down but it felt quite chilly. This time last week I was in the garden in shorts and t-shirt with sun cream on, yesterday I was searching for my fleece.

I spent most of my time potting up cuttings and tender plants such as echeverias so they are ready to go to their winter homes, either a window sill or cold frame. I dug up some of my herbs, oregano and rosemary and put them in a cold frame. I find the biggest problem getting plants through the winter is wet weather and damp air. More plants have succumbed to rots and fungal infections such as botrytis than cold temperatures.

I took these Fatsias cuttings at the start of the summer. They were basal shoots that already had few roots and I just pulled them away from the parent plant. I’ve found this the easiest way to propagate Fatsias. Well they have rooted well so I thought I would give them their own home and potted them on into individual pots.

I have quite a few pots of hardy annuals that I sowed in September. They germinated well in the warmth and are now in individual pots in one of my cold frames but I’m a bit worried they won’t make it through the winter. They are hardy but the damp will probably get them. I lost sweetpeas last year and said I wouldn’t bother trying to overwinter anything again. So why did I do sow these hardy annuals? For the same reasons I sow my seeds too early in spring and then end up with the nightmare of plants too big to be indoors but it’s too cold to put them outside. I love growing plants and I’m impatient.

My newly potted up echeverias

