Tags

Last year's snowman

This will be my last post before Christmas, so I just wanted to wish everyone a Merry Christmas.

The weather has turned unseasonably mild again and I couldn’t find anything that was suitably festive to photograph. So I plumped for a photo of the snowman we made last Christmas, whilst staying with family. This time last year we were driving on the M5 doing 30mph because the motorway was sheet ice. We were snowed in for a couple of days at family in the north east and had no idea whether we would make it to our next destination, family in the Pennines. Fortunately we did, but how different the weather is this year.

My garden is looking more forlorn now. There are still a few flowers hanging on, some heleniums, primroses and a pelargonium. I’ve even got stocks flowering still at the allotment. We have had only 2 frosts and a little bit of sleet so far. It’s the Winter Solstice today and I spotted my first bulbs pushing through the other day, so although January can be a long, hard month to get through we are at least heading in the right direction. Not long now till we’re chitting those potatoes and ordering seeds.

Whatever you’re doing and wherever you’ll be this Christmas have a lovely time. Best wishes, Wellywoman x

