Tags

, , ,

Thanks to Christina at myhesperidesgarden for inspiring me to look at the foliage in my garden. I have to admit I am a flowers kind of girl. I’ve never really been a fan of the minimalist, lots of green, gardens. I can appreciate the calming influence of green in a space and also how it provides a backdrop for flowers to show off but I just find these, so-called tasteful gardens, a bit boring. When there are so many plants and more importantly plants that produce flowers and fruits why would you restrict yourself.

It was only really when we bought our first house and I had my first garden that I realised that foliage too, could be beautiful and interesting. It seems that Autumn is the season for foliage. Leaves turning colour as the daylength shortens and the leaves stop producing chlorophyll, so that a rich palette of colours is displayed.

Acer - don't know which variety though

Then there is Arum italicum which unfurls new spear-like leaves now. It seems such a strange thing to do, as the rest of the garden slips into dormancy to withstand the worst of the winter weather, this little plant decides to poke out from the soil, with it’s intriguing marbled foliage.

Arum italicum

I love this grass, Anemanthele lessoniana and how it’s leaves turn from green to beautiful autumnal colours as season progresses. If they move in the wind they look like the flickering flames in my woodburner.

I think fatsias are great plants. The beautiful glossy, dark green leaves and the cream ribs provide a great contrast at this time of year. If every plant in the garden was turning orange and red the eye wouldn’t be able to appreciate them, so a little green helps these plants stand out.

Then there is Parthenocissus or Virginia Creeper which has turned my fence into a smouldering mix of reds, oranges and yellows.

Virginia creeper and the glorious red fruit of my crab apple

