Tags

, , , ,

Normally, at this time of year I would be feeling like hibernating. I would reluctantly venture into the garden to do a spot of tidying up but feel a bit miserable that everything was dying back, entering a state of dormancy. I’ve noticed this year that I’ve been looking out more for points of interest. Ok we’ve had a lovely Autumn that means my garden still looks good and I’ve been out soaking up those last rays of sun but I do think this whole blog writing thing is making me look at my garden in a different way. So I just thought I’d share with you some photos of plants that are still doing their thing.

This is Tiarella ‘Morning Star’, a beautiful little plant that has been flowering since May. It has these lovely frothy pink flowers that are lightly scented and beautifully marked leaves. It likes part shade and I have it planted at the edge of my shady border so it doesn’t get swamped by other plants.

This is the flower head on my Fatsia. I love the foliage of Fatsias but this is the first year it will have flowered. It suffers a bit in the winter, it’s leaves go brown and it looks a bit sorry for itself but it always perks up in Spring. Sometimes new leaf buds get damaged by frost but I’ve found by removing the damaged buds it will send out fresh ones.

I loved this young Parthenocissus (Virginia Creeper) leaf tinged with Autumn colour.

And finally my Erigeron karvinskianus that just keeps flowering. It probably isn’t a plant popular with garden designers, I’m not sure it would make the ‘What’s hot at Chelsea’ list but I love it. It reminds me of holidays in Cornwall where it grows in crevices of walls, tumbling down in a slightly straggly fashion. In the garden with more soil and nutrients it makes a more bushy, healthier looking plant but still produces masses of flowers over a long period. Last winter did hit it quite hard and it took longer to get going again in Spring but it is really easy to grow from seed. I have it planted at the edges of my oak raised beds so it tumbles over softening the edges and also at the base of a Clematis that is growing up the side of the shed. I wanted something around the base of the clematis to keep the roots cool and the Erigeron has done the job well.

