Tags

, , , ,

Flowers on arrival

I recently received a beautiful posy of flowers from Wiggly Wigglers. It was their luxury posy and it came with its own vase, a very pretty ‘Quattro Stagioni’ storage jar. The jar can be reused for storage or preserving once the flowers have died, which I think is a really nice touch.

The flowers arrived in a cardboard box. Inside the posy was held upright in a cardboard stand in a living vase which contains water and fits snugly around the stems.

I loved the colours of the posy with the dusky pink of the Sedum, the whites of the Alstromeria, the acid green of the Molucella and the silvery green foliage. It also included some Sweet Williams for a lovely fragrance.

I really appreciated the natural feel of the flowers. I often find bouquets from high street florists are a little too stylised. I think if you use beautiful fresh flowers you shouldn’t need to do too much to them. The simplicity of the glass jar as a vase also allowed the flowers to be the focal point.

I like the ethos behind the Wiggly Florist.  As I said in a previous post it’s sad that the production and transport of many flowers for the florist trade is damaging the environment. At Wiggly Wigglers all the flowers they use have been grown in the UK with some grown on the fields surrounding their HQ in Herefordshire. They also only use seasonal flowers and foliage so although it is not possible to specify a choice you know you are getting the freshest possible flowers.

Bouquets are available and it is also possible to buy a mix of flowers and foliage which you can arrange yourself.

After 8 days - still looking good

It is now 8 days since I received my posy and it is still looking fresh. The posy range varies in price from £25 for the smallest to £45 for the luxury posy. Initially I thought the flowers were a little pricey but I think the inclusion of the reusable jar and the excellent vase-life of the posy combined with the fact that the flowers are British grown and are supporting British farmers make Wiggly Flowers value for money.  To have a look at the Wiggly Florist click the link below.

Thank you to Heather and the team at Wiggly Wigglers.

