Buying presents seems to be getting more difficult. Most people have more than enough ‘stuff’ and can generally buy what they want. Gifts seem to be very expensive electricals or cheap stuff that doesn’t last five minutes. Well I thought I would come up with my top 10 list of gifts for the gardener in your life. With Christmas on the way I hope this gives some inspiration.

  1. Highland Soap Company Hand Cream – Every gardener needs a good handcream. I discovered this company whilst on holiday in Scotland this year. The cream is rich but absorbs easily, doesn’t leave your skin feeling greasy and a little goes a long way. There are a good range of products using organic, natural ingredients and they smell amazing. I can definitely recommend the Lemongrass and Ginger which smells like old fashioned lemon sweets. Available mail order at The Highland Soap Co.
  2. Hunters Wellies – I’ve had my Hunters for 6 years now, they were a Christmas present from Wellyman, and they are still going strong. They have a great range of colours and styles, with shorter boots and wider fittings. They are expensive but they are long lasting which is ultimately better for the pocket and the environment.
  3. Warm Socks – I hate cold feet and the one problem with wearing wellies is cold feet. So a pair of warm socks would make a nice gift. I love alpaca wool socks available from my local farmers’ market. You can get similar goats wool socks from Wiggly Wigglers.
  4. Gloves – A pair of good gardening gloves are essential ¬†for most gardeners. I’ve gone through quite a few pairs in the hope of finding something that was comfortable, hard-wearing and washable. For me Briers Lady Gardener gloves have been the best with a velcro fastening at the wrist and at a reasonable price.
  5. Magazine Subscription – There is something relaxing about sitting down after a hard day’s gardening with a cup of tea and a magazine but magazines are becoming quite expensive. A subscription is a great way to save on the monthly cost, sometimes up to a half. I like Gardens Illustrated and Grow Your Own.
  6. Seeds – Not all gifts have to cost a great deal. I think a couple of packets of unusual seeds makes a great gift. I like ‘Ezetha’s Krombek Blauwschok’ Purple Mangetout from the Organic Gardening Catalogue and ‘Jaune Obtuse de Doubs’ Yellow Carrot from the Real Seed Catalogue.
  7. Bath Oil – To ease those aching muscles try Neals Yard’s Seaweed and Arnica Bath Foam, full of natural ingredients.
  8. Cookery Book- How about a recipe book for new ways to use produce from the allotment. I like Sarah Raven’s award-winning Garden Cookbook or what about the new book from River Cottage Veg Every Day.
  9. Kneeler – Gardening takes it’s toll on the body. This kneeler from Sarah Raven has been brilliant. It’s good and strong. I’ve used it when painting and cleaning the cooker as well.
  10. Garden Membership- If your gardener friend or family member lives near a lovely garden why not get them an annual ticket so they can visit throughout the seasons or a copy of the NGS Yellow Book so they can plan some days out to be inspired by other gardens.
